Naturalista Special Feature: Kizz Ziah

Meet this beautiful naturalista as she shares with us.

IMG_1933487000004
Beautiful Kizz Ziah

 

 

What is your name and where are you from?

 Hello beautiful my name is J.KizzZiah. I was born and raised on the island of Grenada.

Tell us a bit about yourself.

 About myself let’s see. God first in everything. I am a mom, designer and owner of my own business called ZIAH where I design handmade bags, jewelry and accessory. I migrated to continue my education, there I majored in Architecture and Business Management. Also training and Achievement in Nutrition and Health. Blogger and contributing writer for LexanFletcher.com based in Grenada. I enjoy all the positive that this life offers. I consider myself a Panther..just too fabulous to fit into the norm. And a smile is a start to a great conversation.

 How long have you been natural? Did you big chop or transition? What made you decide to wear your hair in its natural state?

First time I went back to my natural mane was in 2000. Unfortunately I had to have my hair straightened again for a runway show. A week after the show I shaved my hair off and started all over again. During the years because I liked the short style and it was so versatile especially when heading to work,school and on go sees, I could put a weave or wig for a different style so I continued that style. At first I use to do the basics, head to the store pick up a product for natural hair and use it. Until I started researching different oils and natural home made products for my hair. My eyes opened… I saw the benefit of these oils I was using and I have continued up to this day. My hair has been through so many things weaves, braids, wigs, blond,red, black, pink,fried..name it. I liked the braids but I had to dye my hair black every time because my hair is dark brown and it was easy to just walk into the hair store and grab black and I’m out the door. Unfortunately the braids started breaking my face out so that was a huge no no. I stopped cutting my hair because I made a promise to never cut it again, so I needed another alternative. While online I saw this great blogger who was wearing yarn braids. So I decided to try it. I started the yarn braids mainly to go on vacation and I kept it in for months after. During this time my hair started to loc because I treated the yarn as an extension to my hair. I washed it, oiled my scalp with it and did my head massage ,everything. But I always missed my fro. So I wore it every vacation and during the winter as a protective style. I felt like I turned into the yarn queen. lol. But every time I took it out my hair of course always loc so the last time I took out the yarn braids I left my hair loc . I locked my entire head and added a few loc extensions. My locs are 12 inches and my loc extensions make it 18 inches. I’ve  noticed that leaving my hair alone makes it grow faster. It is not always neat and I like that. 
Now you have to understand I could never commit to a hairstyle so when I started on my loc journey I already told myself as soon as I get tired of it I’m shaving all this hair off. And I must say so far so good I have made a commitment to my locs.

IMG_191004651988519

Describe your hair texture.

Let’s see my hair texture. I know I have tight curls in some areas than others and it is thick.

What is your hair regimen? What do you do to keep it healthy and to retain length?

 My hair regimen consist of mostly everything being homemade. I make mostly everything. To keep it healthy I mix my own hair oils, my own sprays, and I add to my shampoo to make it all a benefit to my locs. The same thing I did for my afro mane I do for my locs. I don’t do anything without a purpose so everything going in my hair has to have a purpose for example my hair spray oil contains lavender which help with itchy scalp. And everything I use I do my research first.

IMG_190992580431749
What is your greatest challenge with your natural hair? Shrinkage, breakage, dryness? What are you currently doing to address your challenge area?

The Challenges I have with my natural hair was dryness  and flaky scalp but I learned what to do from being gentle with my hair and scalp to using sulfate free shampoo and daily moisture use and mixes, for example coconut and olive oil to address the moisture, adding tea tree to my mixtures to take care of the scalp issues. Staying away from petrolatum oil and heavy wax. Honestly I allow my locs to do what it wants. With my fro when I washed it, there was major shrinkage so I accepted that style. Now with my locs I wash,dry and moisture. Simple things.

What do you love most about being natural?

Oh my what don’t I like about being natural. At present I have locs and it’s awesome. I don’t have to think about damaging my hair with lots of heat or harsh chemicals. So its great 🙂

1400515486195

What have your experiences been as a natural, including reactions from friends, family and colleagues? Have you experienced any opposition from anyone in your life regarding how you wear your hair?

I have never experienced any opposition from anyone with regards of  how I wear my hair now. Its just tiring sometimes to hear people say that natural hair has to be accepted. Some people forget we were born natural some just went to other hairstyles because it was easy to maintain for them but not knowing the effects chemicals and harsh heat was having on their hair some did it because it was accepted by society.
 

What is your favourite go-to hair style for days when you don’t have a lot of time?

For days when I don’t have time because I’m always going, I put my locs in a pony tale. One strong bubble is all I need.

What are your staple hair products or must haves?

Must haves for my hair are my loc gel, coconut oil, olive oil, lavender oil, rosemary oil, shea butter, ACV and baking soda. Just to name a few..:-)

What is your hair goal?

My goal for my hair is for it to stay healthy and clean.

1400637406052

What is your best hair advice to someone who is thinking of going natural and needs a bit of encouragement to make the transition?

My best advice for anyone going natural or wanting to transition is do it and take time with it. Invest in a few products for your hair that can be mixed at home. Take time to find the best products for your hair. Remember what works on someone else’s hair may not work on your hair. Being natural is beautiful, the journey is exciting and is worth it if that’s what you want. I was so surprised at myself especially when I made a commitment to loc my natural mane and so far I am enjoying this.

 What is the biggest lesson you’ve learnt during your natural hair journey?

The biggest lesson I learned during my natural hair journey is to leave the hair alone don’t braid it too often. If I have to cut it to allow it to grow back. Its okay.

What is your favourite life lesson?

Oh my favourite life lesson is life is beautiful, things can change whether it’s by our own hands or circumstances. Risk the usual and never settle.

Where can we find you online? Website/blog/Instagram/twitter?

Yes I am online
blog.. WWW.favourite care.blogspot.com…

Instagram.. @favouritequeen…

twitter.. @ZIAH_Unmatched Elegance ..

fb… Kizz Ziah
Fb business page… ZIAH

Thank you for this opportunity to speak about my natural hair. Cyber smiles beautiful natural.

KizzZiah 🙂

7 thoughts on “Naturalista Special Feature: Kizz Ziah

Leave a Reply

