My Hair Regimen

Developing a Hair Regimen can often be a daunting task especially for natural newbies. In my view,  the key is to keep it simple and do what works. It is easy to get bogged down with the many techniques, hair tools, and hair products but from my experience little is actually more. Now let’s get down to the details of my regimen.

Cleansing Process

Now wash day can take several formats.  Basically the products chosen for the washing process depends  on the condition of my hair at that time.

My staple products for the cleansing process are listed below.

Pre-Poo Agents: Coconut Oil, Honey

Cleansing Agents: Giovanni Tea Tree Shampoo

Conditioning Agents: Giovanni Smooth As Silk Conditioner

Hair extras: Castor Oil, Coconut Oil, Special Herbal Tea Rinses, Apple Cider Vinegar Rinses

So typically my wash day goes something like this:

Pre-poo with my coconut oil and honey mixture on lightly dampened hair. During this time I detangle my hair and section it off in large twists.

Shampoo with my Giovanni Tea Tree shampoo, then do a herbal tea rinse,  oil rinse, or a deep conditioning treatment followed by my Giovanni Smooth As Silk Conditioner.

Moisturizing Process

Moisturizing is an essential part of my hair care regimen and should also be for everyone.

Staple Moisturizing Agents:  Water, Giovanni Direct Leave In Conditioner, SpicyNaturals Tropical Twist Hair Oil, SpicyNaturals Shea Avocado Hair Butter, Homemade Moisturizing Hair Mist

So basically after conditioning while my hair is still wet I apply my Giovanni Direct Leave in Conditioner, followed by my hair oil, my hair butter. Simple put I use the L.O.C method (Leave in. Oil. Cream).

Styling Process

Styling Agents: Sarenzo Twisting Cream, Homemade Flax Seed Gel, Eco Styler Gel, Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie

After applying my styling agent which most times is my SpicyNaturals Shea Avocado Butter, I put my hair in some chunky twists and basically that is all. From my chunky twists when I undo them I get a beautiful twist out from which I can  wear it out or style my hair.

 

Hair Treatments

Hair Treatment Agents: Henna, Homemade Moisturizing/Protein Treatments, Bentonite or Rhassoul Clay Treatment and any other treatment that my creative mind invents.

My Moisturizing/Protein treatments are typically done every other week.  With regards to henna, in previous years I did henna every 6 months but as of  July 2014 I am going to henna every 2 months.

 

Peace and Love

SpicyNatural Jo

 

Leave a Reply

